Dole’s VEGAN Fruit-and-Gel Bowls

Jodee, an Almost Vegan reader who was kind enough to email me, gave me this tip. She wrote me this in an email first:

“I know the feeling of wanting something you never cared about before you couldn’t have it – isn’t that funny?
I am an avid label reader – so if I’m standing next to something at the market you can bet I”ll read the label – DOLE lime gel cups with pineapple in teeny-tiny letters at the bottom of the package says – no animal products!”

Then Jodee did her homework and followed up by sending me an email she received from Dole themselves.
Dear Jodee,
We appreciate your interest in Dole Food Company. We’re glad to provide the information you requested and hope it is useful.
DOLE Fruit-N-Gel Bowls do not contain any animal sourced ingredrients. The gel is derived from plant. The gel is made of Carrageenan and Locust Bean Gum. The two main ingredients that form the gel in this product are carrageenan (derived from red kelp) and locust bean gum (from the locust tree seed). These polysaccharides are like starch and they form a gel when combined with water. No gelatin is used in our gels and they are free from animal-sourced ingredients.
Try our other flavors:
DOLE Fruit-n-Gel Lime Gel w/Pineapple
DOLE Fruit-n-Gel Orange Gel w/Mandarin Oranges
DOLE Fruit-n-Gel Strawberry Gel w/Peaches
DOLE Fruit-n-Gel Reduced Sugar Pears in Kiwi-Berry Gel
DOLE Fruit-n-Gel Mixed Fruit in Black Cherry Gel.
Thanks so much for the gel(lo), Jodee.

8 thoughts on “Dole’s VEGAN Fruit-and-Gel Bowls”

  1. I could be wrong, but i’m almost positive that the peaches in strawberry gel contain carmine color. The other gel snacks are safe though:-). Hunts gel snacks are also vegan friendly.

    • Yes , some of the Dole cups are not Vegan. They contain Carmine color, which is derived from cochineal insects. Just fyi Animal free product does not always mean vegan.

  2. Hi there :)
    I think we met at Taco Bell the other day. I was in a horrid mood before you came through — I love meeting other vegans! :D Anyhoo, just thought I’d leave ya comment. I’d love to keep in touch with ya… maybe we can do lunch sometime. :)
    <3 Heather

  3. wow, I was just thinking about finding some vegan jello. I wonder if I can find this at my local grocery store.
    Hey, what’s Vegan on the menu of Taco Bell? Aren’t the beans cooked in lard?


Leave a Comment