This is about a previous entry – Taco Bell. I wrote that a rice and bean burrito at taco bell is vegan. (w/o cheese of course)
But then I received this comment in reply to that post:
taco bell rice is made with chicken stock. sorry, hate to be the bearer of bad news.
Posted by: [Unsigned] at August 6, 2004 04:49 PM
I wondered what the truth actually was so I emailed Taco Bell and asked them. That was 2 weeks ago, I had almost given up on them, but I received a letter from Yum! Brands, Inc. today – they own Taco Bell.
Now, I am a member of PETA, so I know that Yum! is not the best company because of their purchasing of chickens that are tortured and treated horribly. (reason I am vegan, animal cruelty) I am with Peta in their attack on KFC, but I have got to give credit where credit is due and I see from Yum! what I hope is a glimmer of hope.
There is no chicken stock in Taco Bell Seasoned Rice!
…but there is casein (sodium caseinate) in there, so Taco Bell’s Seasoned Rice is “almost vegan.” Legal for me, but if you don’t go for any dairy, don’t get the rice when you order a bean burrito with no cheese.
The rest of it is okay. The tortillas are clean, the beans are vegan, and of course so are the vegetables, and the hot sauce is too. As well as a number of different stuff on their menu. I got the entire low-down from them and I do appreciate it.
Here’s a PDF of their complete Ingredient Statement.
So I hope that Yum! will bow to the pressure that Peta is placing on them to clean up their KFC act and care more and more about the “ingredients” they sell in their restaurants.