New Golden Oreos are Vegan! ***Please check bottom of entry

Golden Oreos
This vegan Oreo newflash was brought to my attention by Violaine, a regular Almost Vegan visitor. She’s funny and seems really fun too. Here’s the note she sent me…
——————-
Indulgence AHOY!!!
The new Golden Oreos are VEEEEEEEGAN!!!!
*dances*
Just thought you might like to know!
-V
———————
See for yourselves at the Nabisco site.
Thanks V.
***ATTENTION #2*** I have heard, on very reliable authority that at least in Florida, these are vegan. Danielle is a regular Almost Vegan contributor, (and a great blogger herself: http://www.joeparadox.com)She writes:
——————
Hi Denise! I saw these on a recent trip to Florida, and the label did indeed prove them to be vegan. I tried one at a party a few weeks ago and I thought they were ok! (No Liz Lovelies, of course!)
Posted by: Danielle
——————
***ATTENTION #3***
Another commenter offered this…
—————–
It seems there are multiple factories which produce the cookies (shocking, no?), and it’s up to each factory to choose their ingredients… (continued in comments)
Posted by: Tougi
——————
***ATTENTION*** I’ve gotten a complaint-comment on this post:
——————
That’s strange…the ones I bought today say “modified milk ingredient” listed in the ingredients….why is that?
Posted by: Nancy
——————
This is scary, so please read the label! Do not take my word for it. I have been known to be wrong about stuff from time to time. Nobody’s perfect. All I can do is print the labeled ingredients from their website below and the company’s own disclaimer circled in blue.
Golden Oreos Nutrition Facts

14 thoughts on “New Golden Oreos are Vegan! ***Please check bottom of entry

  1. Way cool. I remeber when I found out I couldn’t eat oreo’s cause they had pig in them, I was really disappointed. But now, I can!!! yay! thank you almost vegan!

  2. But doesn’t it matter that the Oreo > Nabisco > Kraft > Philip Morris connection is so obvious?
    I guess there may be some Vegans out there who try to avoid any and all politics, but… it seems very wrong to praise or reward a company that causes so much harm to so many people, as Philip Morris does.
    Oh wait, pardon me, they’ve “rebranded” as Altria. Same death, different company name.

  3. Hi Denise! I saw these on a recent trip to Florida, and the label did indeed prove them to be vegan. I tried one at a party a few weeks ago and I thought they were ok! (No Liz Lovelies, of course!)

  4. Ah, Oreos…or Oreoes…or Oreo brand sandwhich cookies. Rules for plurality aside, I’ve had a few run-ins with both varieties (genders?) of the sugar-based snack foods and, so I’ve been told, whether or not you’ll find a vegan box is pretty much luck. It seems there are multiple factories which produce the cookies (shocking, no?), and it’s up to each factory to choose their ingredients. Multiple types are often sent to grocery stores, so the search for wild taste and tooth decay involves no more than that same picky ingredient-browse we all do any way.

  5. “a company that causes so much harm to so many people, as Philip Morris does”
    pfft…
    Unless they send execs out to smack people with sticks, then people are hurting THEMSELVES.
    No one blames X-acto for all the idiot teeny boppers that slash their own wrists.

  6. Whoa whoa whoa stop the car! I want to post about the original blog and hopefully Almost Vegan will read it and write a special post about it.
    I just wanted to offer a word of thanks to all the companies (special thanks to Betty Crocker for going out of their way to point out that Bac-Os are animal-free) who print a special line saying “this product contains milk, egg, and blah blah.” Some cynics will surely post about how it’s because of food allergies and lawsuits and capitalist scum or some such, but I am going to go on blissfully believing they are doing it just for me and the animals. So THERE:P

  7. you have no way of knowing if that’s vegan.
    “natural flavors.”
    and sugar comes through cow bones in its refining, by the way.

  8. not ALL refined sugar uses bone char in the refining process… American Crystal Sugar for instance does not. The only way to know for sure is to call the company and ask if the sugar they use was refined using bone char.

  9. are oreos vegan? i just read the packet and it has no ingrediants that come from an animal. isnt it illegal for them to hide these ingrediamts incase ppl have allergies? i am a vegan but get a bad sugar craving and just found out i can eat oreas – can i?

  10. Some vegans choose to avoid sugar that are processed using bone char, however, I do not because as a vegan, we should put reducing the most amount of suffering before personal purity.
    And for the person who made the comment about companies being linked- we should praise companies for taking steps. Vegans should support their local fast food joint or Burger King for introducing a veggie burger. We shouldn’t stop shopping at a store that sells vegan foods, that still sell meat. And Tougi is right (obviously) commen sense tell you they are hurting themselves if they choose to smoke.

  11. Umm..no. Rewarding a company for producing a product that they don’t even realize has no animal ingredients in it does nothing. That coupled with the refined sugar issue leaves me, once again, avoiding oreos. As it’s already been brought up, there are multiple factory sites, some producing an ALMOST vegan variety, some not. It seems pretty clear to me that the almost vegan variety was completely unintentional.

  12. Oreos just say sugar, not refined sugar, is there a difference?
    Does sugar REALLY go through COW BONES? That is fucking sick. Don’t they realize they could be infecting people with MAD COW? Does this mean any and all sugar? I mean I never knew about this ever I thought sugar was just like a plant.

Leave a Comment